Selfishness? Maybe. Or not.

Yesterday, my friend reached out to me. She needed to talk about enrolling her kids in a top tier private primary school in the country vs starting a school of her own. Thing is, she can not afford both. She could send her kids to the school OR she could put the money into starting her business. 

Thing is, she is tired of working her 9-5, and has been quietly reading about Montessori learning and taking an online degree in it. 

She wanted my opinion on how she should proceed.

My friend is 37. Her oldest kid is in Year 3.

I told my friend to spend the money on the school she wants to build. I thought it was important that she did something that got her heart excited. 

If she sends her 3 kids to the private school, she is going to want to maintain the same standards for secondary school, and then for the university. At her current income, starting a Montessori would be a dream she had that never came to live.

I told her that she needed to do something for herself. She had to find her own joy. At 37, when does she start to please herself? She would make up – she can send her kids to an elite secondary school to make up for the early foundation that she wants for them.

I am writing this now because I think of how society expects us women to bend over backward for our kids, to put them first. And it must seem to someone that I encouraged her to be selfish. But how much better she would be if she were a whole and happy person who mothers 3 kids.

Leave a comment