Everything Good Will Come by Sefi Atta

The book is whimsy. It’s hard, makes me burst out into laughter and also reminds me of the grimy bits of life. 

It’s highlighted being black in a foreign land and how it can be. I have enjoyed Sheri and Enitan’s friendship, how two people can be so different, yet develop such a bond and be completely devoted and loyal to the other.

I am at Mike and Enitan’s part now. I am enjoying the ping-pong of their conversations. It’s light, easy. Conversations shouldn’t be forced, it shouldn’t be hard. Being with someone shouldn’t be hard. Wanting to visit your partner at night as a surprise shouldn’t have you worrying. If you are fretful, maybe you should not be there.

Mike was an idiot. 

The book is great. It gently peels away at norms and expectations, questioning status quo and culture. 

“It’s easier to walk around a rock,” she said, “than to break it down, and you still get where you’re going.” I saw that in the past I’d been inclined to want to break rocks, stamping my feet and throwing tantrums when I couldn’t. Acting without grace.

Thinking about steady love. Where they didn’t talk for 4 months and after they started to talk, she was dealing with cutting his toe nails that were almost as old as their silence had been. They wouldn’t deliberately hurt each other. In the midst of it all, when she was in pain from the baby kicking, or when she was cutting him while clipping his toe nails, there was that knowing that he had her back.

changes came after I made them, each one small.

There is this other quote too. “situations became trickier, my tasks became smaller.” When we need to make changes, we should start small. When you survive a trauma, you either mourn it or you reincarnate to begin a new life. Choose to revive yourself.

Tell him, a da. It will be good. Everything good will come to me.”

It may be a long trip. Some days, it may look like it’s full of errors & we are hopelessly lost. Some days, the journey may hurt. But there will be joy. Everything good will come. 

Leave a comment