END SARS

I’ve been afraid these past couple of weeks. 

Like I told K, over the past year, I’ve curtailed my freedom of expression so much. So very much. I ask myself who would fight for me if I get into trouble and I have so many people depending on me. Coupled with some personal pain and I’ve become much more quiet. 

The #ENDSARS protests in Nigeria (you can read more about it here) grew in the last 3 weeks with many people stepping up to handle different roles and step up in many ways, and one of the moves that impressed me the most was FeministCo getting private security for peaceful protests. 

I was afraid, quite so. We were fighting against police brutality, against powers that did not want to be toppled, against people who had no qualms in taking any action.

October 20, 2020 was devastating. The Nigerian Army shot live bullets at peaceful protesters who defied the state-mandated curfew. The protests were peaceful, the people that evening were singing the national anthem, and they shot at them directly. We watched it live on Instagram and on the feed of others who were at the venue. That evening broke our spirits. It terrified us. I spent the next few nights sleeping curled on the floor, next to my bed. I was afraid.

It’s a week today since the massacre. 

The victims deserve justice. They deserve closure. There must be ownership for the evil of that night.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is c2fa9c9b-b533-472e-8ee0-e3b68857b0d5.jpeg


We started out fighting for our right to be safe. We must continue, though it will be hard. We must fight for a healthy society, for ourselves not just for our kids. 

Our unity was amazing. A beauty to behold. The way changes were made, how we adjusted to what each day brought; how everyone stepped up to own something and contribute. We must not forget our unity and single mindedness.

However we can come together – whoever is strong in administration; whoever is strong in policies; whoever can teach so we take this message to the grassroots; whoever is strong in paper work; whoever is strong in mental health; whoever can manage communications – we must come together, and we will build a safe society.

We will do it, afraid. We will. 

Leave a comment